Bannock

This past Valentine’s Day, a group of friends and I ate at Bannock (401 Bay Street), an Oliver & Bonacini restaurant serving “Canadian comfort food”. One of my friends had been eyeing this place for a while to try the roast duck poutine pizza!

00

Yumminess ahead!

Bannock was pretty busy (Friday Valentine’s Day dinner) but not overwhelmingly so. The restaurant is also in a bustling area near the Eaton Centre. There were a few Valentine’s Day specials, but everyone in our group of four ended up ordering just from the regular menu.

ROAST DUCK POUTINE
curds, fries, duck
$16

First, we decided to share the roast duck poutine pizza. It looks deceivingly small in the picture above, but it’s HUGE. I got a little worried that I was already starting to feel pretty satisfied after my one slice of this. This was an amazing dish and pretty much all I could imagine to want in a poutine-pizza. Four people worked out perfectly for us to share this as an appetizer. The definite must-try at this restaurant and worth the hype!

TOFURKEY SCALLOPINI
mozzarella, roasted garlic, squash mostarda, quinoa
$14

I didn’t want anything too heavy after the duck poutine pizza and ordered a vegetarian dish as my main. It was still a large dish though, haha. I loved this dish and the great variety of flavours in it! I’m definitely becoming more and more of a quinoa fan. It’s not a heavy dish but still very filling and my friends had to patiently wait for me to try to finish off my plate.

WARM S’MORES PIE
$9

06

WARM S’MORES PIE

 SO AMAZING. Dessert is almost always my favourite part of a meal and this s’mores pie definitely didn’t let me down. I’m glad I shared it with one of my friends though: it’s such a rich and dense dessert! I really wasn’t expecting such a huge portion. The gooey roasted marshmallows were perfect and I loved the mix of chocolate and fruit. Everything in this dessert worked so well together. I’m going to be thinking about this s’mores pie for a while, haha. :D

All of my friends and I definitely enjoyed our dinner at this restaurant! We were there for over three hours and didn’t even notice the time going by. The atmosphere of the place is really nice – great for a date or special-occasion group outings. We also had great and personable service. There are a couple more things on the menu I’d be interested to try – can’t wait to come back!

Bannock on Urbanspoon

2 responses to “Bannock

  1. Awww! I am glad to hear you had a lovely Valentine’s day and that you had the DIVINE S’mores pie! Wish I had gotten to celebrate it with you guys. In any case, let me know when you are planning to try Bannock again. :)

    • Yeah! It wasn’t too far away from my classmate’s anti-valentine’s day party afterwards so it worked out well. That s’mores pie was INCREDIBLE. :*) Wish you had been with us – next time!

Leave a Reply

