Casa Manila

Recently, I went on my second visit to Casa Manila (879 York Mills Road). My first time here had been over the summer with my family for my youngest brother’s birthday. We had ordered so many things I don’t remember most of them, haha.

There aren’t very many Filipino restaurants in Toronto, so I’m glad to see this one around to try out. The dishes are a little hit or miss for me, but for the most part, I’ve enjoyed both my visits here. The big thing I’ll echo from other reviews is that the service does tend to be a little slow…

The dishes don’t come with rice and you can order either garlic fried rice or plain steamed white rice.

00

ENTRANCE

BEEF MARROW SOUP / BEEF BULALO
tasty beef bone marrow soup with bok choy
$10.99 (1-2 servings)

01

BEEF BULALO

I love this! The meat was tender and the soup, perfect. I think this could have used a lot more bok choy though, but I also know I feel this way because we had ended up getting three meat-based dishes with no other veggies, lol.

GARLIC CHICKEN / ADOBONG MANOK
delicious chicken simmered in a tangy vinegar, garlic and soy gravy
$12.99

02

ADOBONG MANOK

A classic Filipino dish~ The flavour was nice and strong but we found the chicken itself unfortunately a little dry.

CRISPY PORK BELLY / LECHON KAWALI
delectably deep-fried pork belly, served with house made lechon-sauce and papaya slaw
$14.99

03

LECHON KIWALI

Delicious artery-clogging goodness! This or crispy pata (deep fried pork hock) are the usual party favourites in Filipino cuisine.

HALO HALO ESPESYAL
assorted fruits, sweet beans & custard on top of shaved ice, topped with evaporated milk, special house made syrup, ube taro ice cream & puffed rice flakes
$7.99

04

HALO HALO

We were way too full to order dessert, otherwise I would have insisted we get the halo halo. The penultimate Filipino dessert and awesome during the summer. :)

This place is a little out of the way if taking public transit, but otherwise great if trying Filipino cuisine for the first time. They have a lot of specials including a kamayan (eat with your hands) special which would be a neat experience, as well as a pretty extensive menu in general.

Casa Manila on Urbanspoon

One response to “Casa Manila

  1. Great review! I love the photos! <3 My family and I are actually going to Casa Manila for Easter lunch! We're doing kamayan. Should be interesting…. :D

Leave a Reply

