Barrio Coreano

A friend and I went for a late Wednesday lunch at Barrio Coreano (642 Bloor Street West) in Koreatown, not too far of a walk from Christie station. We were greeted by a friendly waitress and quirky, neon interior decorations here. This place has gone the paperless menu route, so the menu can be found on chalkboards on both sides of the restaurant.

00

interior decor

I love Mexican food, and I love Korean food, so I’ve been meaning to try this place for a while now. The dishes my friend and I ended up ordering didn’t have much Korean influence though, oops! Will need to come back to try others. :)

CHIPS & GUACAMOLE
$9

01

CHIPS & GUACAMOLE

This was pretty good! It’s a little expensive considering the portion size though. My friend and I demolished this pretty quickly, haha.

BAJA FISH TACO
$5

02

BAJA FISH TACO

I was surprised that the taco menu items were literally one taco with a $5-6 price tag. That said, this fish taco has incredible flavour! Needs more fish though. My friend tried the duck mole taco and was unfortunately much less impressed.

FLOURLESS CHOCOLATE CAKE
WITH GREEN TEA ICE CREAM

$9

04

FLOURLESS CHOCOLATE CAKE WITH GREEN TEA ICE CREAM

This is a delicious dessert, and so cutely presented! Again, fairly pricey, but my friend and I enjoyed this dish.

TRES LECHE
$8

03

TRES LECHE

Our waitress gave us a fair warning that the tres leche cake was a pretty sizeable portion, and it really is. Topped with whipped cream and cinnamon, I really enjoyed this dessert! I wonder if there’s a way to add more Korean cuisine influence to the dessert menu though: the addition of green tea ice cream in the previous dish is the only loosely Korean influence on the dessert menu.

Barrio Coreano on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

