Summerlicious 2014: Southern Accent

summerlicious2014header

01

upstairs decor in the evening

Four friends and I headed to Southern Accent (595 Markham Street) just a short walk from Bathurst station. Check out their Summerlicious menu ($25 dinner). I immediately liked the vibe of the place. The weather was great and so the patio was already full, but the room we were seated in upstairs was nice with quirky decorations.

02

bread basket

We were given a bread basket to start with a sort of lime-y hummus. Then our meal began!

Appetizer: FRENCH QUARTER WRAP
collard and quinoa roll with smoked tomato sauce

03

FRENCH QUARTER WRAP

I thought this was a really unique appetizer! The combination of flavours was great. I initially wasn’t sure if that was cheese or some sort of nut sprinkled on top, but it’s garlic. This appetizer is also vegan and gluten-free. I also tried my friends’ Orleans Salad (smoked catfish has such a strong flavour, but I liked it!) and the Nawlins Boudin Balls (which contain pork, and were probably my favourite of the appetizers).

Main: CAJUN JAMBALAYA
a highly seasoned rice dish with caramelized onions, mushrooms, chicken, andouille sausage and ham with the holy trinity of vegetables; celery, onion and green pepper, served with collards and topped with sautéed shrimp

04

CAJUN JAMBALAYA

I debated for a long time between getting the Decatur Street Flank Steak and this, but decided to go for something I don’t really eat often. This dish had a lot more rice than I was expecting, making it really filling! I was a happy diner with this jambalaya, which had a great amount of spice and seasoning to it. I tried a piece of the flank steak which was presented nicely and also delicious, but I actually think I preferred the jambalaya.

Dessert: PAVLOVA
Aussie style meringue served with fresh fruit and dollop of fresh whipped cream

05

PAVLOVA

I LOVED THIS. It was a super sweet meringue, but I still managed to finish mine and nibble off a piece of a friend’s. :P The bread pudding and strawberry rhubarb pie desserts were all also really good! This pavlova was hands down my favourite of the bunch though.

Service tends to be slower for Summerlicious, and this was the longest meal I’ve sat down for so far clocking in at around 3 hours (but to be fair, we didn’t start ordering until around 7:30). All things considered, our server was attentive and knowledgeable. My friends and I unanimously agreed dessert was the best part of the three-course meal, and overall we had an enjoyable meal here.

Southern Accent on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

