Five Joys of Travel: Part 2

Five-Joys-Header

Here’s part 2 – a seemingly boring topic but one of my favourite pastimes. Haha. In any case, finding a good place to stay and sleep while you travel is a pretty big thing to think about, and it can have a huge impact on your overall impression about where you’re traveling.

header-sleep

♡ SLEEP.
I enjoy naps and usually need a good night’s sleep to be even somewhat functional. Weirdly, I can nap comfortably and inappropriately almost anywhere but I usually need total darkness and silence for sleep. I’ve slept in ritzy resorts, a ryokan, a capsule, budget hostels, a hostel’s lobby, love motels, dorms, guesthouses, village home stays, at an elephant nature park, in overnight trains and buses, on boats, in an airport terminal, and in a bus terminal.

Overall, I’m more on the frugal side when it comes to accommodations. However, I do occasionally splurge on fancy hotels with room service and infinity pools. Money aside, part of me just really enjoys and romanticizes the dorm-style hostels and guesthouses more typical of backpacker culture. There’s often a lot of character in these places. As long as a place is safe, clean (UGH FOREVER TRAUMATIZED BY BEDBUGS :( ), and reasonably quiet, I’m not overly fussy about sleeping on the floor, no A/C, limited electricity, or what have you.

Home stay in Ta Van village near Sapa, Vietnam.

Home stay in Ta Van village near Sapa, Vietnam.

In a ryokan/capsule hostel in Kyoto, Japan.

In a ryokan/capsule hostel in Kyoto, Japan.

Paid around $15/night at Finnegan's Hotel in Old Quarter of Hanoi, Vietnam. I had a free room upgrade my first night.

Paid around $15/night during low season at Finnegan’s Hotel 2 in Old Quarter of Hanoi, Vietnam. I had a free room upgrade my first night!

Another option I haven’t tried yet is couchsurfing. I was introduced to this about a year ago but was too wary about actually doing it. However, everyone I either know or have met in passing who has done it only says great things about it, so it might be something to look into more and try for future travels. It sounds like a great way to make a new friend and get a more personal, localized experience.

It’s all at once liberating and tough to be so nomadic for so long. There’s nothing quite like falling asleep and waking up in a new environment to meet your day. Even if you’re having the time of your life traveling though, occasional feelings of displacement and homesickness can make a trip glum. I hope this doesn’t come off too corny, but just remember that, wherever you choose to stay and sleep while you travel, homecoming is also an exciting part of travel. Travel in general can be enriching just in making you appreciate having a home and your own space and bed to come back to.

Part 1: Eat | Part 2: Sleep | Part 3: MeetPart 4: DoPart 5: See

4 responses to “Five Joys of Travel: Part 2

    • Ah, really? I guess they originated being more for businessmen so a lot are men only and only serve that purpose.
      The one my friend stayed at in Kyoto was geared towards travelers and mixed genders! It’s definitely an interesting experience and I hope you get to try one if you visit Japan again. :)

Leave a Reply

