Five Joys of Travel: Part 5

Five-Joys-Header

My last installment in this mini-series of posts! Coupled with my love of wandering is my very simple love of just looking at new and different things. :)

header-see

♡ SEE.
I’m a highly visual person and I love going places just to see whatever there is to see. My smart-aleck brother would roll his eyes and tell me about the invention of Google. But you completely miss having perspective and the sheer amazingness of just being there! I’m beginning to realize I have an annoying tendency to wax poetical on these things, but there’s really nothing like just being in the presence of something great or ordinary and appreciating existence.

Such as the Great Wall of China! Seeing it with my own eyes and being there was monumental for me also in that going to China was my first big trip solo (if you don’t count moving to South Korea). I’m not gonna lie though – the view we got seeing the sunrise at Angkor Wat was pretty disappointing. It was (and is probably still) under some reconstruction, too cloudy, and heavily populated with other tourists. All kind of a buzzkill, even if none of it can be helped. I mean, in the end, all those other tourists are pretty much looking for the same thing as you in that moment. Anyway, I don’t encourage only going out to see the big ticket items – the local fresh markets and night markets in Asia were among my favourite places to go to and look around, even if they were all said to be “same, same, but different”. ;)

On a bamboo raft ride along the Yulong River in Guilin, China.

On a bamboo raft ride along the Yulong River in Guilin, China.

At the Plain of Jars in Phonsavan, Laos.

At the Plain of Jars in Phonsavan, Laos.

At the white sand dunes in Mui Ne, Vietnam.

At the white sand dunes in Mui Ne, Vietnam.

My favourite places for photography have been Guilin, China; Coron, Philippines; Kyoto, Japan; and the Angkor Archaeological Park in Cambodia (despite my one hangup about the Angkor Wat sunrise). I may eventually do separate photoblog entries for those.

I love to walk, wander, look, and explore. You never know what you’ll end up opening your eyes and mind to and seeing. I’m simply a romantic at heart, and one of the biggest things that’ll always take me back to travel and sightsee – whether in my own city or elsewhere – is the joy to see things and just be there.

Part 1: Eat | Part 2: Sleep | Part 3: MeetPart 4: Do | Part 5: See

2 responses to “Five Joys of Travel: Part 5

  1. Thank you for liking “do things that are out of your control.” This post is a very refreshing perspective on the joy of travel. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

