Travel Throwback: Singapore

Singapore

By special request, here’s a post on my two-day trip to Singapore. I visited in early October 2012 – almost exactly a year ago! I went over a long weekend with six friends (we visited Kuala Lumpur first). My birthday also happened to fall on our first day there. :D

I think the two most consistent things people will say about Singapore is that it has great food and it’s just so. clean. A lot of the main sightseeing attractions of the city are clumped together in the same area by the bay. The city felt more westernized than any other in Asia that I’ve come across in terms of the space, the greater diversity of people, and that things were expensive, haha.

Here’s a view of our itinerary:

October 01

IMG_5519

Wink Hostel: We stayed at this awesome capsule-style dorm hostel in Chinatown. The seven of us managed to snag a room to ourselves which was a lot of fun! It would get pretty crowded with all of our belongings and we were near the entrance which would beep every time someone entered or exited the hostel, but other than those minor annoyances, we had a terrific stay here.

IMG_5419

On the balcony~

IMG_5420

My cozy sleeping arrangement.

Marina Bay Sands: So beautiful! We kind of regret not splurging on a room here just for one night, but had decided that the time to switch between accommodations wouldn’t be worth it since we were only going to be there for two days. We pretty much spent the great majority of our time in this area though.

We had lunch at a great Brazilian barbecue place in the Marina Bay Sands Shopping Centre. This marked the second time in a row I had celebrated my birthday with Brazilian barbecue. :D Next, we visited the SkyPark.

IMG_5493

There’s an infinity pool at the top of that. :O

IMG_5469

Inside the fancy hotel resort!

IMG_5727

Shopping Centre in the evening.

Gardens by the Bay: I love this concept and Singapore’s commitment to the environment. This place is enormous, and we weren’t able to explore everything there was. It would have been nice to see this place in the evening, too – we just didn’t have the time!

IMG_5485

In front of the famous solar Supertrees!

IMG_5516

Inside a tree and upward.

IMG_5528

RULES.

IMG_5533

My birthday Supertree martini? :)

Youth Olympic Park: An art park filled with work by local youths.

IMG_5547

The Youth Olympic Park and ubiquitous Marina Bay Sands in the background.

Merlion Statue: The walk around to get to this fountain-statue was a lot longer than we had anticipated. Not sure if worth it, haha. The creature itself though has huge symbolic significance in Singapore.

IMG_5563

Body of a mer-creature, head of a lion. Merlion.

Night Safari: We made a Night Safari trip to cap off my birthday and our first day in Singapore~ Getting the shuttle to take us here was a little frustrating, but our group all managed to find each other. I didn’t get a single good picture from this since I had to take my flash off, but being THATCLOSE to the animals was pretty amazing. There’s a tram guided tour as well as walking trails that you can do on your own. We did the tram first and did one of the walking trails.

IMG_5577

Night Safari time!

October 02

IMG_5552
Chinatown: We came to Singapore just after the mid-Autumn Festival, and there were still a lot of decorations and statues around. It’s a pretty lively area!

IMG_5625

Near the station in the morning.

IMG_5614

Right off the street of our hostel in the evening.

MacRitchie Reservoir Park: We hiked a 5km walking trail – which we shared with monkeys and cross-country training students – to the HSBC TreeTop Walk along a suspension bridge. All of this walking in general and finding our way out took us a lot longer than we hoped it would. We really spent our entire morning here.

IMG_5636

Monkeys on the path!

IMG_5655

TreeTop Walk.

Singapore Flyer: I don’t particularly care much for Ferris wheels, but this one was really nice. There’s clearly a whole effort in making it a different experience with their rooms of art and information before you actually board. The art concepts reminded me a lot of the Singapore pavilion at the Yeosu World Exhibit. …Guess that would make sense.

IMG_5692

Artsy artsy.

IMG_5700

View of some awesome buildings and the race track.

IMG_5702

View of the roads.

Singapore Food Trail: Located near the Singapore Flyer, this is an outdoor dining area with tons of different food stalls. There’s a street-eats type of feel to it that I love. :)

IMG_5713

Some of the food stalls. Not all were open when we went.

IMG_5716

First time trying this! I enjoyed it.

IMG_5739

Delicious food~ I don’t remember what this is though :(

IMG_5668

I actually got this dessert at the food court… SO GOOD. Ice kachang?

Helix Bridge: We walked across this bridge many a time during our stay~ I’m pretty sure I have an entire album of ~artistic~ pictures taken of or from this bridge.

IMG_5543

The Helix Bridge – I love the artistry of the architecture present in Singapore.

ArtScience Museum: This is the lotus-flower-shaped building! We visited one of the touring exhibits at the time called Andy Warhol: 15 Minutes Eternal.

IMG_5731

In the lobby of the ArtScience Museum.

Singapore Changi Airport: Amazing airport. This and Incheon Airport are definitely my favourites in the world (that I’ve gone to so far :D).

IMG_5742

Look how friendly the bathrooms are!

IMG_5744

The world’s largest kinetic art sculpture at the airport.

2 responses to “Travel Throwback: Singapore

  1. Hehe, I love your photos, Holly! And I can so hear your voice in your writing too. ^_^ I also really enjoyed my visit to Singapore when I was there earlier this year. I loved the Supertrees! I love that picture of you holding the tree like a martini. So creative! And I also wish that I could have stayed at the Marina Bay Sands! And also to swim in their infinity pool too. :)

Leave a Reply

