Salad King

00menu

Cheap and fast Thai food~

Salad King (340 Yonge Street) is one of Toronto’s most well-known Thai restaurants situated right next to the Ryerson University campus and between College and Dundas station on the subway line.

I love the atmosphere of this place. I usually come by myself for a quick bite and break from being in the library, and am seated at one of the many long tables. It’s definitely a lot roomier and quieter during their weekday mid-afternoon hours – the place is packed and can be a little overwhelmingly busy during normal meal times. Service has always been pretty good regardless though. And the food as well! The main dishes come in considerably large portions and I almost always have to pack up my leftovers.

Overall: vibrant and trendy decor, good food, always fast and friendly service.

00spicyscale

Image from http://www.saladking.com/
I have yet to venture into the 3+ chili range. o_o

Here are a collection of pictures of the food and drinks I’ve tried over a series of visits I’ve made to this place. I’ll probably continue to come here as long as I’m a poor and hungry student around the Ryerson campus.

Enjoy the food pics~

04sataychickenskewers

Satay Chicken
Grilled chicken on skewers with peanut dipping sauce
$5

A simple side dish and I loved it! The chicken was great and the peanut sauce was awesome. :D

03tomyumsoup

Hot & Sour Mushroom Soup (Tom Yum)
Mushroom, coriander in chicken and shrimp based spicy soup with Thai herbs and lime juice
$3.50

This is one of my favourites. :) A small-sized soup with a nice amount of spiciness and great flavour.

01phudthaiveggie

Phud Thai (Veggie)
Rice noodle, carrot, peanut, tofu, green onion, bean sprout, coriander, egg, fish sauce and tamarind sauce
$8.25

Probably the most well known Thai dish. Maybe I was just expecting too much, especially after hearing so much about this place and eating varieties of this for a third of the price in Thailand, but something about the sauces didn’t particularly do it for me. I might just have to try this again sometime.

02seafoodfriedrice

Siam Fried Rice
Rice, shrimp, squid, egg, carrot, pea, tomato and fresh pineapple
$8.75

This dish was alright – nothing noteworthy about it. It wasn’t bad, but I wouldn’t particularly consider it a must-try.

06islamicnoodles

Islamic Noodles (with chicken)
[secret menu!]
$9.75

Noodles in a coconut-based curry~ This dish is off-menu and I only found out about it after reading this review. Anyway, it’s DELICIOUS and not to be missed!

05mangostickyrice

Mango Sticky Rice
Fresh mango, sticky rice, coconut milk, palm sugar
$4.00

I love mango sticky rice, but my mango here was sour and I would have liked more coconut milk and palm sugar. I didn’t find it particularly appetizing.

07thaimilkshake

Thai milkshake
$2.75

I wasn’t expecting it to be so bubblegummy. It’s probably due to the kind of flavoured medicine I would take as a kid, but unfortunately I couldn’t help but associate this drink with that. :( Should have gone for the Thai iced tea instead!

~

Salad King on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

