#08 Go rock climbing.

08-rock-climb

#08 Go rock climbing.

date completed: 11 January 2014

This past weekend, my friend Stella and I finally managed to cross off rock climbing on both our to-do lists. We made reservations for a one-hour $35 introductory lesson at The Rock Oasis (Suite 204, 388 Carlaw Avenue) where we ended up spending our entire afternoon. We had a few difficulties at first, especially with belaying, but it’s definitely one of those things you pick up quickly after some practice. This place also offers a coupon for free gear rental the next time you visit (with an expiry date).

2014-01-11-14.52.01

The auto belay area, featuring small children showing us up with their skillful nimble rock climbing ways

As climbing partners, we both managed to work our way up the 5-7 level walls, and we both tried the auto belay walls and made half-hearted attempts at bouldering (our arms just got so exhausted so fast!). I have pretty much non-existent upper body strength, so this was a great workout. Mission accomplished.

Untitled-1

The beginning and graceful fall of my auto belay adventure

7 responses to “#08 Go rock climbing.

      • I used to go to the old Rock Oasis location (Bathurst/Front) every week when I lived on Lakeshore. Then I went to Toronto Climbing Academy every 2-3 days after I moved to the East End, and coincidentally RO moved here too! But I already had a membership at TCA so I haven’t been to the new RO yet. But their walls are higher and more fun so I’m looking to go back soon. That was a long reply, lol, sorry.

          • I used to be decent, but since being pregnant I haven’t climbed in 2 years! :(

            True North (truenorthclimbing.com) is easier for you to get to, it’s an awesome gym. But let me know when you’re in TO to climb again! :)

          • Ahh, I’m sure you’ll pick it right back up though! :)

            Thanks for the information! And I’ll let you know when I plan to go back to the RO. :)

Leave a Reply

