El Catrin Destileria

Following an awesome Segway tour around the Distillery District on Saturday, my girlfriends and I went to El Catrin Destileria (18 Tank House Lane) for some modern Mexican cuisine. We saw a sizeable crowd brunching outdoors on the patio, but we opted to go inside for a little more warmth.

The interior decorations are lively and loud, and would definitely be an interesting place for eats and drinks in the evening. Reservations are probably a good idea – I had tried coming here on a Saturday night a couple weekends back and there was a 2-hour wait!

GUACAMOLE EN LA MESA
avocado, tomato, onion, fresh cilantro, serrano chili
(vegetarian)
$10

00

GUACAMOLE EN LA MESA

Our server asked us if we wanted to start with some guacamole, and it really didn’t take a whole lot of persuading to grab one for the table. We got the spicier option (I guess non-spicy would be just minus the serrano chili?) and it was incredible! The ingredients were fresh and mashed in front of us. The nacho chips (unfortunately not pictured) were also still warm and pretty amazingly fried. Strong start to our meal and my favourite.

TORREJA RELLANA
French toast Mexican-style, mango, whipped ancho chili mascarpone, mescal maple syrup
(vegetarian; contains gluten)
$15

02

TORREJA RELLANA

THIS WAS PRETTY AMAZING. Our server made note this was a popular item. I had never even heard of Mexican-style French toast before. Everything in this dish came together so nicely for me, but definitely that mascarpone was the stand out. Must have again!

This and the churros (below) are on the brunch menu, available on weekends and holidays until 3pm.

CHURROS
cinnamon sugar donuts;
trio of sauces: cajeta (caramel syrup), chocolate, strawberry
(vegetarian; contains gluten)
$12

03

CHURROS

Mmm. These churros were super fried. I still haven’t really found blow-my-socks-away churros that I love in Toronto, but these weren’t too bad. Predictably, I enjoyed the chocolate sauce the most but the others were good, too.

BAJA TACOS
crispy fried haddock, chipotle lime coleslaw, flour tortilla
(contains gluten)
$10

01

BAJA TACOS

We were told by our server that these baja tacos have won awards. I really enjoyed them! Deliciously fried and the and the chipotle lime sauce really complemented the fish. Would definitely recommend.

BARBACOA TACOS
slow roasted lamb, barbequed pineapple, tequila sauce, corn tortilla
$15

04

BARBACOA TACOS

I’m usually a fan of barbacoa, but these tacos were just alright for me. I think it was a combination of the sweet seasonings and pineapple that just didn’t really do it for me – I guess I just prefer my tacos to be more savoury. This was also a really messy (but fun, haha) eat since the heavy portions and sauces tore the torilla apart. In any case, I enjoyed the baja tacos much more.

All in all, this was a great visit and we left feeling pretty satisfied. I have heard this place does piñatas for birthday parties, so this is already high on my list of potential venues. :D

El Catrin Destileria on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

