Beerbistro

An old friend of mine from university and his new family were back in town for a visit, so naturally we needed to have a mini reunion! We chose Beerbistro (18 King Street East) for this special occasion. Beerbistro, just as you might guess, specializes in ‘beer cuisine’ and is located right up next to King station.

My friend made a reservation for eight people at 6pm on a Friday night, and the place wasn’t busy yet. He had also made sure to confirm that the restaurant is baby-friendly, as he and his wife would be introducing his one-year-old to us. The service was amazing in being attentive to the baby (and all of us, lol) and accommodating the stroller while making sure there would be enough space for waiters and other guests to move around freely.

After looking at the menu and deciding what I wanted to order, I went with the suggested pairing, a “quenching” beer called Side Launch Wheat, as my drink.

SIDE LAUNCH WHEAT (5.3% alcohol)
local German-style wheat beer carries flavours of banana, citrus, and fresh grain
$6.86 (pint)

02

SIDE LAUNCH WHEAT

I’m no beer connoisseur and don’t drink often, but definitely wanted to have one with my meal at this restaurant. It’s really light and kind of fruity and sweet, which means it was perfect for me. Not pictured in this post, but I stole a few of my friends’ order of Belgian Frites, a popular appetizer Beerbistro is known for, and they were awesome.

BELGIAN WHITE MUSSELS
steamed in beer broth & served with a loaf of freshly baked Cantillon Sourdough
beer broth: blanche de chambly, garlic, parsley, lemon, cream
$19

Wow, I absolutely loved this. Hands down the best part of this was soaking the sourdough bread in the delicious beer broth. SO. GOOD. All of the other mussel options sound like they’re worth a try, too.

My friends and I had an awesome experience here, and I can definitely see myself coming back! Our server, Nathan, was particularly great in getting our orders, giving us an appropriate amount of time when needed, and making a lot of food and drink suggestions based on our preferences. I loved the atmosphere of this place and the food was delicious and came at regular intervals.

Beer Bistro on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

