Day 15: Madrid

day-city-header15
02 September 2014
00

I woke up around 4am to a coughing fit and got back around to sleeping about an hour later. :( I had probably been a little overzealous in seeing as much as I could in Barcelona to make up for all the time I had spent on my MRP. I guess it was pretty exhausting but I ignored it because I was so excited all the time.

I walked by La Sagrada Familia one last time and saw more workers than usual on it. Can’t wait to come back to this beautiful city, hopefully when Sagrada Familia has been completed! :D At Estacion del Nord, I felt a wave of nostalgia remembering when I first arrived in Barcelona and just how haggard and anxious I had felt.

It was a 6-7 hour bus ride to Madrid (Estacion Sur) with ALSA bus company again at 9:30am. My ticket was €16.60, which again, I had purchased on sale while I was still in Canada and included a €2 administration fee. We had one stop for 20 minutes at Zaragoza, where most passengers got off and new ones got on.

We stopped at another station in Madrid before getting to the southern bus stop, where I was headed. The first thing I did at the station was seek out a bus to Ocaña and buy my ticket for the next morning. Feeling kind of hot and tired and lugging around my backpack, I took the train just one stop to get to my AirBnB place, which was really easy to find. My host, Ana, let me know the previous night she wouldn’t be home during the time of my arrival so her parents greeted me very enthusiastically. Despite not really knowing any Spanish, I did manage to understand what most of her mom asked/told me though and made myself at home. My room was really cozy and I was comfortable in it instantly, plus I had a private bathroom! Couldn’t believe this was only $15/night.

I lounged for a bit and started prepping for my exciting day the next day and just thinking about the end of my trip. I also tried to sort out my money and budget for my last couple of days. Then I wandered out and had an enormous huevos rotos with bacon for €8 at a cerveceria a few streets down. This was my first and only real meal of the day so I had been starving! This did the trick.

Then I went to the supermarket where I got a snack for €0.85 that I only later realized were wafers meant to be eaten with ice cream, lol. Ugh. I also got some orange juice boxes to help me with my developing cough and sniffles~ It was raining lightly when I left the supermarket. :( Under normal circumstances, I might have continued exploring, but because I was already feeling ill, I decided to head back to my room.

Only… it had stopped raining by the time I got back to the apartment! I dropped off some stuff before deciding to walk all the way over to Plaza Mayor.

There wasn’t a whole lot to see in the evening! I did pass by one of the locations for the famous Chocolateria San Gines though! The churros looked unsatisfyingly thin to me though dipping them in chocolate would have been a lot of fun. I was too stuffed from my dinner to sit down and try some though, and I decided the ones I had in Barcelona were more than satisfying for me on this trip. I walked back fairly early to make sure I got some good rest for the last full day of my trip.

04

portugal&spain

Portugal: Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5
Spain: Day 6 | Day 7 | Day 8 | Day 9 | Day 10 | Day 11 | Day 12 | Day 13 | Day 14 | Day 15 | Day 16

Leave a Reply

