Bacon Nation

This year, Ryan and I were invited to join Kevin, Jocelyn, and Byron on their Second Annual Foodie Adventure: eating at six places in Toronto in six hours. Definitely a challenge fit for any determined foodie! We live-documented our food run on Instagram using the hashtag #SAFA2014TO on Sunday, November 9th.

Title

06. Bacon Nation
(170 Spadina Avenue)

We saved this heavyweight for last! This bacon eatery originated from a food truck and appearances at CNE. I gotta say, Bacon Nation has got some great branding. It’s playful and creative, and everything from its storefront to its menu and merchandise will make you want MOAR BACON STRIPS (cue Epic Meal Time).

Now on to the bacon!:

BACON PORKTINE
french fries topped with bacon gravy, cheese curds, bacon bits, bacon strips, and bbq pulled pork
$7.95

02

I found that there wasn’t actually a whole lot of bacon or bacon flavour in this as I was expecting, but I still enjoyed it! I had a few good bites and consciously tried to pace myself. In my opinion, it’s definitely a good item to share between several people as it’s a fair amount, but it doesn’t really have enough variety of taste to really want to down the whole thing yourself.

BACON CHEDDAR FRIES
seasoned french fries topped with cheddar sauce, bacon bits, and bacon strips
$7.95

03

On the advice of the cashier, we added two strips of maple bacon as an extra. Without them, I don’t think this would have been worth getting as there wasn’t a whole lot of bacon otherwise. I felt like the poutine should already come with the bacon strips rather than added on for an extra fee. I also prefer my bacon to be a little crispier than we were served, but they really were delicious! The fries + cheddar sauce + bacon bits were good, too, though I preferred the porktine. The cheddar sauce was on the thin side to me, but this was probably a good thing so that the whole thing didn’t become overwhelmingly decadent.

Both the poutines were heavy, but actually less so than I was expecting! I’m not sure if I’m more disappointed or relieved by that – I came with the expectation of reaching some bacon nirvana state between utter joy and utter self-disgust. There wasn’t a whole lot of variety of flavours in either for me to eat too much, but they’re great for tasting. It does look like their burgers and sandwiches are the real must-tries if you go here; their “Drunken Stupor” looks and sounds INCREDIBLE (and would probably take me a few days to finish) and is only a dollar more than we paid for the poutines (sans add-ons). They definitely have a fun eating space, bacon, killer creative bacon concepts, super friendly service, bacon, and bacon.

04

So long, and thanks for all the bacon.

That’s the end of this year’s Foodie Adventure! Can’t wait for the next. :)

The Second Annual Foodie Adventure stops:

01. Seven Lives
02. The Grilled Cheese
03. Come and Get It
04. Superfood Eateries
05. Pamier Kabob
06. Bacon Nation

Bacon Nation on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

